We study in the team the involvement of the Met receptor tyrosine kinase and its signalling network in tumorigenesis. We demonstrated that Met is regulated by proteolytic cleavages controlling for instance the survival/apoptosis balance. We search as well to decipher the integration of the Met signalling at the transcriptional level directly involved in regulation of biological responses. Finally, we took advantage of the Met cleavages and its pro-apoptotic properties to develop original diagnostic and therapeutic strategies.

 

The deregulation of the receptor tyrosine kinase Met is associated with tumorigenesis and metastatic progression. It is now well established that proteolytic fragments of receptor tyrosine kinase (RTK) are important actors of their signalling. In this context, we have shown that Met cleavages by caspases and secretases control the survival/apoptosis balance and the half-life of the receptor. These original regulations of Met could be involved in tumorigenesis.

Although, the intracellular signalling network induced by Met is well cartographied, its integration at the transcriptional level is not described. We demonstrated that the transcription factors PEA3 are relays of the Met signalling. Here again, we search to understand the involvement of the transcriptional regulation in tumorigenesis induced by Met.

Finally, our works on the regulation of the survival/apoptosis balance led us to study the tumor suppressors often mutated in cancers. Our objective is to restore their expression to rescue sensitivity of tumoral cells to cell death. We search notably to inhibit NMD (nonsense-mediated mRNA decay) involved in degradation of tumor suppressors carrying nonsense mutations.

signal2

La dérégulation du récepteur tyrosine kinase Met est associée à la tumorigenèse et à la progression métastatique dans de très nombreux cancers. Il est maintenant établi que les fragments générés par les clivages protéolytiques des récepteurs tyrosine kinase (RTK) sont des acteurs importants de la signalisation. Dans ce contexte, nous avons montré que les clivages de Met par les caspases et les secrétases permettent le contrôle de la balance survie/apoptose et de la demi-vie du récepteur. Ces régulations originales de Met pourraient avoir des conséquences importantes sur les processus de tumorigenèse.

Bien que le réseau de signalisation intracellulaire induit par les RTK soit bien cartographié, son intégration au niveau transcriptionnel est peu décrite. Nous avons montré que les facteurs de transcription de la famille PEA3 sont des relais de la signalisation de Met. Dans ce cas également, nous cherchons à comprendre l’implication de cette régulation transcriptionnelle dans la tumorigenèse induite par Met.

Enfin, nos travaux sur la régulation de la balance survie/apoptose nous ont conduits à étudier les suppresseurs de tumeurs souvent mutés dans les cancers. Notre objectif est de restaurer leur expression pour ré-induire la sensibilité des cellules tumorales à la mort cellulaire. Nous cherchons notamment à inhiber le NMD (non sense-mediated mRNA decay) impliqué dans la dégradation de certains suppresseurs de tumeurs portant des mutations non sens.